Poem of the Week – Mama Look a Boo Boo

 

220px-Lord_Melody

I wonder why nobody don’t like me
Or is it the fact that I’m ugly?
I wonder why nobody don’t like me
Or is it the fact that I’m ugly?

I leave my whole house and go
My children don’t want me no mo’
Dey cursing black is white an’ ting
And when I talk they start to sing:

Mama, look a boo-boo they shout
Their mother tell them shut up your mout’
That is your daddy, oh, no
My daddy can’t be ugly so

Shut your mout’, Go away
Mama, look at boo-boo dey
Shut your mout’, Go away
Mama, look at boo-boo dey

I couldn’t even digest me supper
Due to the children’s behavior
John (Yes, pa)-come here a moment
Bring de belt, you’re too damn petulent
John says it’s Jean who started first
No daddy is Joyce who start the curse
I drag my belt from off me waist
If you see races ’bout de place;

Mama, look at boo-boo they shout
Their mother tell them shut up your mout’
That is your daddy, oh, no
My daddy can’t be ugly so

Shut your mout’, Go away
Mama, look at boo-boo dey
Shut your mout’, Go away
Mama, look at boo-boo dey

So I began to question the mother
These children ain’t got no behavior
I can’t even rest in meh own place
Tell me what is wrong with meh damn face?

They’re playing with you my wife declared
You should be proud of them, my dear
These children were taught too bloomin’ slack
That ain’t no kind of joke to crack
Mama, look at boo-boo they shout
Their mother tell them shut up your mout’
That is your daddy, oh, no
My daddy can’t be ugly so

Shut your mout’, Go away
Mama, look at boo-boo dey (uh)
Shut your mout’, Go away
Mama, look at boo-boo dey (uh)
Shut your mout’, Go away

So my wife and I had a big disturbance
Due to the constant annoyance
So in order to live peaceful and happy
We send the children off to the country

Comin’ home after working very hard
Ah woman see me and she fainted in de yard
The neighbour run and pick she up
She recover but the women wouldn’t stop
Neigbour I see a boo boo O LAWD
Walking in the backyard O LAWD!
I try to assist she, O LAWS!
De boo boo man still in de yard!

-Lord Melody (1926-1988)

 

More about the Poet/Image Credit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lord_Melody

Transcribed from a live recoding: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srEDcmbrmZA

 

Leave a Reply

