Poem of the Week – Poem of Victory

thutmose-3

I came, and thou smotest the princes of Zahi.
I scatter them under thy feet over all their lands.
I make them behold thy Holiness like the beaming (sun).
Thou shinest in sight of them in my form.
I came, and thou smotest those who dwell in Asia,
Thou madest prisoners the goatherds of Ruthen.
I make them behold thy Holiness in the adornment of thy royal dignity,
As thou graspest the weapons on the war-chariots.
I came, and thou smotest the land of the East,
Thou camest to those who dwell in the territories of the Holy Land.
I make them behold thy Holiness like the star Canopus,
Which pours his light in a glance of fire
When he disperses the morning dew.
I came, and thou smotest the land of the West,
Kefa (Phoenicia) and Asebi (Cyprus) fear thee.
I make them behold thy Holiness like a young bull.
Full of courage, when he whets his horns, he is unapproachable.
I came, and thou smotest the subjects of their lords;
The land of Mathen trembles for fear of thee.
I make them behold thy Holiness like a crocodile,
The terrible one in the water; he is not to be encountered.
I came, and thou smotest the islanders in the middle of the great sea,
Thy war-cry is over them.
I make them behold thy Holiness as the avenger,
Who appears on the back of his sacrifice.
I came, and thou smotest the land of the Thehen;
The people of Uthent is in thy power.
I make them behold thy Holiness as a lion, with a fierce eye,
Who leaves his den and stalks through the valleys.
I came, and thou smotest the hinder lands,
The circuit of the Great Sea is bound in thy grasp.
I make them behold thy Holiness like the hovering sparrow-hawk.
Which seizes with his glance whatever pleases him.
I came, and thou smotest the lands in front;
Those who sit upon the sand thou hast made prisoners alive.
I make them behold thy Holiness like the jackal of the south;
A concealed wanderer he passes through the land.
I came, and thou smotest the nomad tribes of Nubia,
Even to the land of Shat which is in thy grasp.
I make them behold thy Holiness like thy pair of brothers,
Whose hands I have united to bless thee.

-Verses 13-22 of The Poetical Stela of Thutmose III, found on the temple walls of Karnak in Egypt.

 

Source: http://www.masseiana.org/tahtmes.htm

Image Credit: http://www.allposters.com/-sp/Painted-Relief-of-Hatshepsut-or-Thutmose-III-at-Dayr-Al-Bahri-Posters_i9735623_.htm

More about Thutmose III: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8PjE2b92Bk

Leave a Reply

